MICAT Exam Pattern

MICAT Exam Pattern

MICA (Mudra Institute of Communications Ahmedabad) was established in 1991. It is one of the few, or perhaps the only institute in the Asia-Pacific dedicated to creating leadership in Strategic Marketing and Communication. MICA is an autonomous institute which provides three programmes, namely, PGDM – Communications (PGDM – C), Crafting Creative Communication (CCC), and Fellow Programme in Management-Communications (FPM-C). It is a premier management institute for marketing, creativity, and communication. It also provides several online courses.

The selection process for MICA is different from the other B – Schools across the country. It has three steps:


All the candidates must appear for at least one of the above mentioned three exams in order to be eligible for an application of MICA.

  1. MICA Admission Test (MICAT)

MICAT is the in-house exam of MICA. It assesses the students with the help of 6 sections:

  1. Psychometric Test
  2. Verbal Ability
  • Quantitative Ability and Data Interpretation
  1. Divergent and Convergent Thinking
  2. General Awareness
  3. Descriptive Test
  4. GE and PI

The students who score top ranks in MICAT are then selected for the next round of Group Exercise followed by Personal Interview.


The Psychometric Test is a qualifier test for the candidates. If the student does not clear the psychometric test, he/she is not eligible for the next round of GE and PI. The marks scored in the other 5 sections of the MICAT Exam do not matter if the student doesn’t qualify this test. If a person qualifies the psychometric test, his/her relative score of CAT/XAT will be considered, which in turn has a minimum cut-off value.

The individuals who qualify for the CAT/XAT cut-off or GMAT score might be evaluated for the remaining sections of the MICAT exam, namely: Verbal capacity (VA), Quantitative Ability and Data Interpretation (QADI), General Awareness (GA), and Divergent and Convergent Thinking (DCT).

The individuals who qualify based on relative performance in a subject to a base cut-off in Scaled Scores for every one of these areas (to be specific: VA, QADI, GA, and DCT) and CAT/XAT cut-off or GMAT score might have their Descriptive Tests assessed.

Also Read: Is Dynastic Politics good or bad for the country?

The individuals who qualify based on a, b,c and d as specified above and based on relative performance in a subject to a base cut-off in Scaled Score in DT might be considered for the next step in the process, i.e., for GE and PI. The waitlist will be set up based on MICAT-I and/or II or better of the two relative exhibitions if an applicant has taken both MICAT-I and MICAT-II. (This will be readied in accordance with the Composite Score formula of half CAT/XAT/GMAT and half MICAT).

Around 1/10th of the average number of applicants who show up for either of the two MICATs are shortlisted for GE and PI on the basis of the total scaled score earned in MICAT.

The MICAT exam is held in the following cities:

  • Ahmedabad,
  • Aizawl,
  • Ajmer,
  • Aligarh,
  • Allahabad,
  • Bareilly,
  • Bangalore,
  • Bhopal,
  • Bhubaneswar,
  • Chandigarh,
  • Chennai,
  • Dehradun,
  • Delhi,
  • Dhanbad,
  • Faridabad,
  • Gandhinagar (Gujarat),
  • Ghaziabad,
  • Gurgaon,
  • Gwalior,
  • Guwahati,
  • Hyderabad,
  • Indore,
  • Jabalpur,
  • Jaipur,
  • Jamshedpur,
  • Jammu,
  • Kanpur,
  • Kochi,
  • Kolkata,
  • Lucknow,
  • Meerut,
  • Navi Mumbai,
  • Mumbai,
  • Muzaffarnagar,
  • Nagpur,
  • Noida,
  • Panjim,
  • Patna,
  • Pune,
  • Raipur,
  • Rajkot,
  • Ranchi,
  • Surat,
  • Trivandrum,
  • Udaipur,
  • Vadodara,
  • Varanasi, and
  • Visakhapatnam

Every one of those hopeful applicants who appear for GE and PI, and satisfies the below-mentioned conditions will be considered for the shortlist:

  • Recommendation by PI panel.
  • No less than at least 3.5 on a 5-point scale in GE
  • No less than at least 4 on a 5-point scale in PI

Also Read: What is the pattern of the MICAT exam?

For each one of the individuals who meet the criteria a final composite score (FCS) is made according to the following weightage:

CAT/XAT/GMAT: 20%; MICAT: 30%; GE: 20%; PI: 30%; (Scaled Scores are utilized for MICAT).

The final round of GE and PI are held in Kolkata, Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, and Delhi.

Learn the best courses from world-class experts

MICAT exam design is as per the following:

MICAT is a Computer Based Test (CBT)

The length of the exam will be 3 hours

The exam paper will comprise of roughly 94 questions

MICAT 2018 Distribution of Questions

MICAT 2018 comprises of 2 papers- Paper I and Paper II. Paper I contains Descriptive type of questions and Paper II contains Multiple Choice Questions. Paper II is further sub-divided. Read the details below:

Paper 1 No. of Questions Paper2 No. of MCQs
Argument Writing 4 Descriptive type of Questions Part I Psychometric Test 35
Story Writing Part II Reasoning and Verbal Ability 35
Essay Writing Part III General Knowledge 25
Part IV Verbal Ability 25
Part V Quantitative Ability 25-27
Part VI Divergent-Convergent Reasoning 30


MICAT 2019 exam design specifies the aggregate number of questions that will be asked and in addition the mode in which the test will be held. Also, MICAT is conducted twice in a year. MICAT exam design likewise specifies whether there is any negative marking if the applicant gives the wrong answer. The objective of taking a section-wise patterned test for MICAT 2019 is to help the applicants in drawing a clear plan for the exam. Applicants can read about the syllabus of MICAT 2019 to make themselves familiar with the themes and subjects from which questions are probably going to be asked. In this article, applicants can thoroughly understand MICAT exam design 2019, for example, marking scheme, the method of the examination, the number of questions, allocated time, total marks and so forth.


Share this post